Wednesday, March 31, 2010

UCSB Rec Sports Announces their Hall of Fame Awards

Chris Keets - Surfing
Adam Laurent - Cycling
3-Peat National Championship Black Tide Ultimate Teams

Pioneer Award Recipients:

Donn Bernstein
Frank Stevens
Mike Killackey

IM Legacy Awards

Vintage Gnarley
Ozone Rangers

Additionally, UCSB Rec. Sports will be honoring our most recent national champions such as our 3-peat Women's Club Soccer Team.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Deb Callahan, President of the Heinz Center to Keynote the Environmental Studies 40th Anniversary Dinner as part of the All Gaucho Reunion

Deb Callahan, noted conservation leader and environmental policy expert, became President of the H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and the Environment on April 20, 2009. Ms. Callahan succeeded Dr. Thomas Lovejoy who served as Heinz Center president from 2002 to October 2008 when he became Biodiversity Chair at the Heinz Center. Immediately prior to joining The Heinz Center, Ms. Callahan was the founder and CEO of Northstar Strategy Inc., a strategic consulting service firm providing expertise in philanthropy, environmental policy and communications for a range of foundations and non- profit organizations.

Ms. Callahan served as President of the League of Conservation Voters (LCV) from 1996 to 2006, a nationally recognized political and environmental leadership organization. During her tenure, the LCV and its voter Education Fund developed into highly respected non partisan institutions that educated the public on critical environmental policies. Prior to her work at LCV, Ms.Callahan served as the founding Executive Director of the Brainerd Foundation and was a program officer for the W. Alton Jones foundation, both prominent environmental grantmaking foundations.

The Heinz Center, established in 1995 in memory of Senator John Heinz, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan institution dedicated to improving the scientific and economic basis for environmental policy and to developing innovative solutions to environmental problems.

Saturday, March 6, 2010

UCSB Athletics Honors Eight New Members including two Gold Medalists

The UCSB Athletics Department will induct eight new members into its Intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame at a banquet on Saturday, April 24, 2010, it was announced Tuesday.

Women’s swimmer Kim Bryson, football player Dave Chapple, high jumper Colman Conroy, men’s water polo player John Dobrott, women’s basketball player Christa Gannon, men’s swimmer Jason Lezak, women’s tennis player Jean Okada-Mueller, and men’s volleyball player Todd Rogers are the 2010 inductees.

“These are great Gauchos and they earned their way into our Hall of Fame,” said UCSB Director of Athletics Mark Massari. “UCSB Athletics does great things and all eight of these former great Gauchos are a part of a proud history.”

Bryson earned several All-American honors in her four years at UCSB. Chapple was an All-American and set numerous school records as a placekicker and punter. Conroy set a school record and earned All-American honors with a sixth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. Dobrott is UCSB’s third all-time leading scorer, a three-time All-American and he helped the program to the 1979 NCAA Championship. Gannon was a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, an NCAA Woman of the Year Finalist, and she has numerous significant accomplishments since her graduation from UCSB. Jason Lezak was an All-American, a three-time Big West Swimmer of the Year, and a gold medalist in the 2008 Olympics. Jean Okada-Mueller was an All-American, qualified for three NCAA Tournaments as an individual, and led UCSB to four Big West Championships. Todd Rogers was a two-time All-American setter and has become one of the greatest professional beach volleyball players of all-time, winning the gold medal at the 2008 Olympics as well as numerous AVP Tournaments.

The banquet, which is part of the All Gaucho Reunion weekend, is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. on Saturday, April 24, 2010, in the Thunderdome. There will also be a reception in The Phil Womble Hall of Champions in the ICA Building at 5:00 p.m. Prior to April 2, tickets for the event are $75.00 for adults and $35.00 for children ages 5-15. On April 2, the tickets will be $90.00 for adults and $50.00 for children

Only Seven Weeks To Go

We are less than seven weeks away from the 4th annual All Gaucho Reunion and what promises to be an incredible weekend! Be sure to check out our website at There are literally events for everyone - from the Gaucho Gallop benefit race to a faculty-led lectures on the IV Riots.